Wayne State University College of Nursing


The (Wayne State University) College of Nursing will honor four individuals for advancing health care in this region at the annual LifeLine Awards reception on Tuesday, September 14, 2010.  Representing a range of professional backgrounds, each of the 2010 LifeLine Award recipients is a leader in enhancing the well-being of this region.  The honorees are: Beth Morrison, president and chief executive officer, Haven, a non-profit organization that provides counseling, advocacy and shelter for  victims of domestic and sexual abuse; Robert G. Riney, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Henry Ford Health System; Heidi Jacobus, president and chief executive officer of Cybernet Systems Corporation, a technology company focusing on medicine and defense; and Virginia Hill Rice, PhD, RN, CNS, FAAN, professor, Wayne State University College of Nursing and Alumna of the Year.

The LifeLine Awards were established in 2001 by the Wayne State University College of Nursing to recognize health care achievements that are regional, national or global in their impact.  The awards event also raises funds for scholarships for Wayne State University nursing students and assists in faculty recruitment.  Over $300,000 has been raised for nursing scholarships since the inception of the LifeLine Awards.

The College of Nursing Board of Visitors hosts the event, which will be held at the Detroit Athletic Club.